How to set up privacy on Whatsapp
Hide last login status or the profile picture these are options users can choose as to what information we want to share.
Whatsapp is one of the applications that is found in almost any smartphone. Like any “tool” it has its pros but also many cons. Privacy has often been questioned and competitors who claim to ensure greater security while chatting, have emerged such as Telegram. But the most popular messaging app in the world has the great advantages.
The recent acquisition by Facebook has raised more fears, for example, using the social network can make your data available to users. The co -founder of the app, Jan Koum has insisted that the service will not change – even incorporating voice calls and tried to allay fears about privacy and espionage. While waiting to see if there are changes or not, another issue is shared by Whatsapp what and how we have it configured. Making a few changes will aloww better control of your information shown.
The last connection, the status and profile picture
One of the most common “problems” is caused by the information from the last login time. Many may not want anyone to control whether or not one is connected, or how many hours. And is easily solved. IPhone users have to enter the menu and disable that option ( Menu- > Settings -> Advanced-> Disable Last time online ) option.
Android users until recently could not do it directly from the application, but a new update of Whatsapp has been released – for now available only from their web page, which includes new features like the ability to hide the time of last connection. Also hides the profile picture and status.
Because these new options the user may not see certain information for a particular contact, depending on how you set your privacy settings. A user can select the “Contacts” option so that only you can access your profile photo, status and time of the last connection who listed contact your device. If set to “No” in the privacy settings, nobody can see your information. Currently it is not possible to hide some individuals or specific groups, unless it is locked to a particular contact.
If you do not have the latest version of the application and you want to enter Whatsapp unseen is best to disconnect the data traffic or the wifi and turn on again when leaving. It “s what many apps are designed to do, and that is to hide the last connection.
When you block someone on Whatsapp, you will stop receiving their messages – also cannot send messages, also no longer has access to the “Last login” or whether one is “online” and users can not see any change in the picture profile. Only you can know the state, which is always visible.
The blocked user does not automatically get removed from the list of contacts application. To do this, delete the phonebook of the mobile phone. But there is another set of options for configuring Whatsapp to everyone”s taste.
For example, you can prevent Multimedia files that are automatically downloaded to the library of the mobile phone, you can save and archive important conversations if the phone is lost and there is also the possibility of deletion.
Deconstructing the myth of the “double check”
The “double check” option only indicates that the message has been delivered, unread. A green tick means the message has been received in WhatsApp servers and two tics indicate that the message has reached the recipient, but this does not mean they have read it. The company itself has had to insist this several times, on Twitter and on their website, denying the “famous” “ double check” myth.